Sign in to follow this  
KiwifromtheTron

One week in

5 comments in this topic

36 posts
2,915 battles

I started playing WOWS 7 days ago, and last night got to tier V.  I thought I would list some observations I've had over the last week:

• I really like the co-op mode for newcomers.  In some ways it's harder than standard mode but you get a reasonable facsimile of what it will be like in lower tier pub battles and you get to figure out things and learn the different ships in a relatively stress free environment.
  • The game is severely under-documented (same for all WG titles), expecting the community to teach new players how to play feels a bit lazy to me, but whatever, the game is free after all.
  • Someone told me to learn cruisers before I bothered trying the other lines, and I concur.  Cruisers offer the biggest margin for error as they are maneuverable enough to avoid torps and have enough health to withstand a barrage.  I know all you newcomers are keen to play destroyers and carriers, but you can't learn much if you keep getting sunk in the first exchange of gun fire.
  • AA gunfire seems to be pretty weak, maybe its because I am playing tier III and IV ships against tier V aircraft?
  • I don't really like the default battle interface, it doesn't provide enough info. The alternate is better imo.
  • I had a few CTDs, but they are fairly rare.  Apart from the obvious bugs the game seems to work well.
  • From time to time I have had massive ping spikes when firing my guns at max zoom.
  • I've been getting into some 4 tier spread matches (as the bottom tier of course), this needs to be fixed because you are largely ineffective, especially if you are in a battleship.
  • Fix blue lining soon.  It's such a lame tactic its a shame players can get away with it.

496 posts
4,163 battles

Perhaps it's your computer that is making the ping spikes, 

i'm just having issue with longer loading