Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
The_Pharoah

Amazing what you learn from games

13 comments in this topic

Alpha Tester
24 posts
186 battles

Came across 'In Harms Way' (WW2 movie with John Wayne, Kirk Douglas) on Netflix yesterday and decided to watch it...the first setting is in Pearl Harbour on 7 Dec '41. Anyway, one of the shots is of a Cruiser which Wayne is the captain of...as soon as I saw the cruiser, I went 'hang on....2 x 3 guns forward, 1 x 3 guns aft, 5" guns...honey, thats a Cleveland class cruiser...I'm sure of it....you know, great rate of fire, good AAA, horrible armour'....and she's like 'uh huh...so?'. 

Before WoWS, I really only knew how to differentiate between DDs, CLs and BBs....now..... :) 

oh and there's a DD in the intro as well...I haven't fully done the US DD tree as yet.

679 posts
3,522 battles

Good stuff mate, I'm a teacher and now if I'm ever doing one of the world wars or Vietnam my kids get a full overview, ships, planes, tanks.  The boys LOVE it!

[SIF]
Senior Moderator
2,563 posts

lots of the older movies about WWII have the actual ships in them. The USN never just decommissions a ship and scrap it, they mothball then in special areas and keep them for many years. This is one of the reasons you saw BB's in action during the first Gulf War, all they did was re-commission the ships, do a few upgrades (radar, weapons systems etc) and off they go.

Beta Tester
86 posts
208 battles

Same thing with WoT, tho not on a good way. Saw the movie about Patton... and the N*zis have US Army hardware! And post war hardware too! =.=")

Alpha Tester
24 posts
186 battles

lol yeah I learned a lot about tanks of WW2....and was sorely disappointed every time I saw a war movie with 'authentic tanks' lol...more like american tanks dressed up to look like german ones!! atleast in Fury they got it quite authentic.