Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
jimmywrangles_1

The Kitikama and why it makes a good anchor.

11 comments in this topic

[1NATN]
Beta Tester
192 posts
11,244 battles

So in a mad uncontrolled spending spree I bought the infamous Kitikami yesterday and prepared to dominate with massive torp spam and earn some serious creds.

For the price I had two choices, Kitikami or the Atlanta, I'm a DD driver so the Kitkami seemed the logical choice with 40 torps.

Big Mistake.

Firstly this ship cannot turn

Is slow to accelerate

Is just slow

And burns to death if you look at it with the right intensity.

It's gun placement means you can only fire at targets in front of you which is a shame as you spend all game running away from ships faster than you.

But yes, the torps are good, not great, but with a ten K range they're good....unfortunately the Kitikami's detection range is several hundred K's so a sneak attack is probably not going to work.

But wait, It has smoke now, surely I can lay a smoke screen and launch devastating strikes from behind that dubious cover....No, the Kitikamis smoke lasts a scant 13 seconds, not long enough to make your eyes water let alone launch an attack.

The only saving grace it has is that when the game goes live I get my gold back and right now the Atlanta looks pretty damn good.

And after all that I realize I spelled Kitikami wrong in the title and can't change it...I hate this ship.

Edited by jimmywrangles_1

679 posts
3,491 battles

Its also really really good at TKing.  Got TKed no less than 3 times last night due to noobs in their gold ships.

See that thing 120m of your port side, that's an ally you idiot!

Alpha Tester
6,604 posts
2,477 battles

In Hatsuharu, Torping BB in 8 to 5 km, Kitakami launch their torp 8 km to my escape route and 8 + 8 = 16 km.....

Alpha Tester
1,637 posts
7,230 battles