Sign in to follow this  
Paladinum

An AA mechanic I don't understand

11 comments in this topic

5,690 posts
9,498 battles

So how do AA guns pick targets?

This question came from the fact that sometimes I deal more than 5k AA damage to a single squadron (the AA damage counter says so), but no plane is shot down. And AFAIK, there is no aircraft in the game that has more than 3k HP.

The wiki sheds no light on that.

I don't understand how that works. I find it rather annoying because it feels inconsistent.

I'm new to this game so help pls?

Edited by Paladinum

[-CAT-]
3,409 posts
13,592 battles
3 hours ago, Paladinum said:

So how do AA guns pick targets?

They don't. Once the enemy squadron gets into your AA bubble, the AA guns will start shooting.

This question came from the fact that sometimes I deal more than 5k AA damage to a single squadron (the AA damage counter says so), but no plane is shot down. And AFAIK, there is no aircraft in the game that has more than 3k HP.

I don't understand how that works. I find it rather annoying because it feels inconsistent.

You are correct. One aircraft has less than 3k of HP.  But, WG did not mention that you have to multiply them by the number of aircrafts in a squadron.

shot-20_10.04_23_53.39-0370.thumb.jpg.57b6f9634f508848f9f1709b4f3f2079.jpgshot-20_10.04_23_47.36-0146.thumb.jpg.ee354d8b308497912e953431fad5fc98.jpg

1,590 * 8 = 12,750

shot-20_10.04_23_49.59-0876.thumb.jpg.a710b894bc11fbf87caebaf6cf5755e1.jpg

After each attack, squadron HP also decrease.

1,590 * 4 = 6,360

Once the squadron comes in within your AA bubble, only one aircraft will recieve constant and consistent damage. The 100 ~ 500 - ish consistent damage.

But if the squadron went straight into a flack burst, most, or the entire squadron will recieve damage. Hence the 5k ++ damage.

shot-20_10.05_00_06.23-0600.thumb.jpg.6ab577b8c77fcccc5c50b6acb12c9b99.jpgshot-20_10.05_00_06.25-0978.thumb.jpg.c31e25325758e3b7850f94e093011d29.jpg