You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
InterconKW

Player Attitudes, Steamrolls, Statshaming and Entitlement [Opinion]

126 comments in this topic

[SLAVA]
429 posts
7,206 battles

It's been a while since I started any new threads.

I've been playing WoWs actively since December 2019, moreso in the last few months (especially since for unspecified reasons I have been working largely from home). So I suppose I have a lot to get off my chest. This is wordy. Be ready.

Personally, I feel the quality of play on Asia has degraded substantially compared to about a year ago, when the meta was still distinctively kiting and angling, to a more chaotic and aggressive, sometimes suicidally aggressive one. It isn't unusual to see many ships dead in or around caps or overextended down the flanks etc. etc.

1. PLAYER QUALITY
Have you noticed the number of steamrolls on Asia recently? Today in 8 Tier X random games twice the enemy was reduced to 0 points. Yesterday, in the same number of games the enemy was reduced to 0 once. The day before that... was the first day I hadn't seen this happen on Asia. Because I was playing another game.

There's a logical reason. When there are no good players on a team, they are unable to make a reactive play (like setting up a defense or area denial) should they suffer an early disadvantage. Instead they start to feed, throwing away ship after ship into a growing enemy advantage. All the way until the points go to nil. It's a sign that frankly, people are getting worse.

Conversely, a single good player will recognize he can draw out the match even if defeat looks likely. This is why a team with even a small number of them can draw out a battle substantially. Sadly, a small number of good players seems to be too much to ask for in this day and age.