Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Verytis

Fubuki: T6 IJN AA DD Build?

4 comments in this topic

[KAMI]
530 posts
6,381 battles

Disclaimer: This is partially theory crafting in addition to my experience since I lack the resources to test everything (Captains, other ships, etc). I have some experience of Fubuki and CVs but more opinions and corrections from experienced players are welcome.

To start off, there are 2 notable aspects that should be mentioned 1st:

DD's AA usage

• 1 of the suggested tactics atm is to only turn on AA when the CV can see you, this makes you harder to track and reduces dmg taken. Your primary concern is having some level of self-defense. This means that long range and mid range AA are less valuable to DDs as you often avoid using it.

IJN's AA

• IJN's mid-range AA is nonexistent on most ships. Instead they are divided into only short and long range AA. The result is a stronger short range and/or long range, depending on how it swings.

Main topic: So what's the deal?

Fubuki's feature:

• Fubuki is armed with only short range AA, all of which consists of pure continuous dmg. At 1.9km range, this only activates when a CV tries to pass over you. There is no flak involved, all CVs attempting drops will have to eat this dmg. Among the IJN DDs, this short range AA is only slightly surpassed by Akizuki, a T8 DD. You also save some micromanagement but you do have a small gap where CVs take no dmg while spotting you.
  • With DD's fast, innate 50% sector switching, and the MFCAA skill on top, this can result in you bearing very high continuous dmg on any planes that try to drop you.

Short range AA comparison to some IJN BBs:

• Fubuki's base short range AA is 256
  • Nagato's base short range AA is 619
  • Yamato's base short range AA is 955

With sector switching, it is possible to bear 180% AA against planes, resulting in 460 short range AA. You could still add BFT if you want.