Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
LordTyphoon

Chapayev - you cannot carry

11 comments in this topic

980 posts
12,617 battles

Let me make this clear - I'm quite new to the Chapayev, and its still stock. But I do not consider myself a bad player at all. I attack caps at the start, nail or seriously damage enemy DDs, then retreat to the 15-17km zone and firebomb enemy BBs and big cruisers. If I survive for long, and if there aren't many enemy ships around, I close in to the bases and switch to AP, then wipe out any enemy cruisers left. I don't have radar yet (stock hull) - but this, I think, is how the Chapayev should be played. 

But why, oh why - it's just so difficult to win in this ship!

oh-so-youre-so-youre-grinding-to-the-mos

Chapayev%20WTF_zps498z1sus.jpg

My win rate on the Chapayev was actually 11% before yesterday, when I got a few (well deserved) wins. 

Either I'm playing this ship wrong, or its horrifically cursed to be placed with potatoes every game. 

Any Chapayev tips would be nice. 

mj4lzq_zpsdckmabi4.png

(end of rant)

Edited by LordTyphoon

1,386 posts
8,224 battles

My discussion with a few friends ended in a conclusion, Chapayev is a ship trading WR for damage.

I'm not good at this ship so just take these as potato's conclusion after Chapayev grind. (Actually there's still 10k to go but I'd go free exp those)
If you go up, support cap and radar DD, you are very likely to get sunk quick. If you choose to farm damage, you are trusting your WR on your teammates which are not exactly renowned for being reliable.
It's an awkward ship. It has a decent radar for close up support but it's fragile like glass and turns like a buttershee-eeeeep(←Okhotnik joke, 7*guns, 12-34567). For damage farming, I see no reason why I don't go for Shchors.