You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
unknownaussie

Why is the ramming in this game so crap?

19 comments in this topic

Beta Tester
153 posts
3,490 battles

so i just rammed the broadside of a full health yamato with my missouri and only did 80k damage now in the real world a iowa class battleship going 31 knots bow into the broadside of any ship will not live at that speed no way in hell

Beta Tester
153 posts
3,490 battles

seriously wargaming needs to add a new system that calculates damage based on speed size of the ship doing the ramming vs the size of the ship being rammed and angle of impact 

Beta Tester
733 posts
3,155 battles

seriously wargaming needs to add a new system that calculates damage based on speed size of the ship doing the ramming vs the size of the ship being rammed and angle of impact 

Sounds easy, how about you go and do it yourself and present it to WG?

Beta Tester
733 posts
3,155 battles

shiroyasha im not a coder otherwise id do it for them and make them pay me for it lol but seriously would a system that works like that be better?

Maybe you shouldn't demand too much from WG and make it sounds so easy because you don't know how hard it is to make something like that. They already gave you a game to play. Don't just go and demand some trivial things like that.

Super Tester
802 posts

Ramming mechanics take two ships mass into account. Size is irrelevant.

[quote name=

The mechanics for ramming are quite simple, and can be described as the following:

• Two parameters are used when calculating ramming damage; the mass (base Hit Points) of the colliding ships, and their relative speed to each other.
  • The location of the impact and the armor thickness of the ships play no role in determining the damage inflicted.
  • The remaining amount of HP of the colliding ships do not matter, only their base (maximum) HP is used in the ramming calculation.