Sign in to follow this  
Scorch_Prime

What destroyers are the most versatile?

9 comments in this topic

3 posts
44 battles

So, guys, I'm new to the game, but i used to play World of Tanks and i really like the light tanks. In WoWs, I heard that the destroyers are light tanks of the sea, so I wanted to ask, which destroyers are good at what and what is the most versatile destroyer line?

Beta Tester
823 posts
4,972 battles

Well I've only played the Japanese Destroyer lines, but the Shiratsuyu is my all time favorite Destroyer. She was so good and so much fun I couldn't sell her. Had to train up a new commander so I could play her whenever. Good gun platform and excellent torps.

980 posts
12,617 battles

Order of versatility: US DD > German DD > Soviet DD > Japanese DD

US DD:

Pros:Good fast-firing guns, decent torpedoes (from Mahan onwards), good concealment (with the right upgrades), high speed, good turning ability

Cons: Guns have veyr low shell velocity, meaning its is difficult to hit targets beyond ~9km. That really is about it, no other particular cons. 

German DD:

Pros: Powerful guns, great torpedoes, access to hydroacoustic consumable (for long range detect of torpeodes and ships hidden in smokescreens)

Cons: Large hulls means susceptibility to armour-piercing shells, relatively less stealthiness compared to American DDs, firing of main guns dramatically reduces stealthiness

Soviet DD:

Pros: Very powerful guns with great range and accuracy, very fast

Cons: Poor turning performance (particularly at top speed), poor torpedo range (4km for Tier 7 and below), very poor concealment (cannot function well to take capture zones or spot enemies for friendly ships to shoot at)

Japanese DDs: