You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Admiral_Turing

It's time to give a T7 tech tree cruiser radar

50 comments in this topic

1,386 posts
8,249 battles

Even if Fiji gets a radar, it won't work. And as all tech tree RN CL do, the radar is in the smoke slot, and almost everyone pick smoke over radar.

The standard radar range of T7 is between 8.4 and 8.5km.

The problem is with concealment. Belfast can be upgraded to 8.7km concealment, so you just need to go a bit ahead after detected and pop radar. But for Fiji, 9.8km fully upgraded, so utilizing radar can be far more difficult.

↑purely fictional, as I've never owned a 8.7km Belfast until recent ranked, which proved two months can turn a person doing fairly well into a total noob.(I haven't played Belfast in PvP for two months and my Belfast performed totally noob in ranked)

Indianapolis do need a radar to be unique and attractive. Yes she was better than Pepsicola, but which makes her stand out against a Myoko? Especially because most people own a colorful Myoko or two or… four.

But putting radar on Atlanta… I don't know what was WG thinking, but Atlanta was attractive enough for anyone who want to troll a CV or have some fun.

For Belfast, there's Fiji in the same tier. Belfast's AP sucks compared to Fiji, meaning she can't rip any not-so-well angled ship apart like Fiji does. And she doesn't get torp(historical fact). And the maneuverability is worse(a bit less than 600m circle against a bit less than 700). And she doesn't get repair party. So as a compensation, she gets concealment/maneuverability slot and radar to counter her survivability/maneuverability issue and the problem of smoke being charged at(Fiji can be extremely devastating against anything that is even angled but Belfast can't, so radar can let her counter smoke charge at longer range).