Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
AkatsukiTeitoku

Goodbye IJN Torpedo DDs

37 comments in this topic

59 posts
4,533 battles

This is my first time starting a topic at the forums, so at least be easy on me. 

I don't want this to turn into a rant, but I juts gotta have my say on this. 

So, news on the new IJN DD tech tree is out. And with the new sub-branch coming, the IJN DDs get a major overhaul on the main branch ships as well. Okay, so everyone is aware of that it seems. And so I was reading through the article (hopefully expecting something good) and then this comes up:

"Along with these adjustments, Japanese destroyers of the main tech tree have lost their far-range torpedoes..."

And I was like:

7Vnq3nP.jpg

They're basically nerfing the torpedoes (again) of IJN DD's for better guns. The new update seems to imply that they are planning to "kill" the torp-heavy IJN DD's and make them "universal DDs", basically a copy of the USN DDs. Do I approve of this change? Well, sorry, but I don't. It kills off the national flavor of the IJN DDs which was the sole reason of why I picked it over the other DD tech tree: to punish people who lack situational awareness with a good torp to the side. Although you ca still do that after the patch, but not as good. 

Okay, I understand that torpedoes are inherently "unreliable", and that the IJN DDs aren't competitive when compared to the USN and the newer VMF DDs in their current state. It took me a while to get the hang of it (even now I'm still learning), but I must say, I like the ninja-torping gameplay. I like it a lot.