Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Strike_Blitz99

IJN Mutsuki class destroyer

13 comments in this topic

Beta Tester
28 posts
55 battles

The WW2 thread seems lonely..... Let's liven it up a bit with this feature of a less known destroyer class fielded during WW2: The Mutsuki class. (Disclaimer: pardon me for any inaccuracies or errors since I am still an amateur regarding ship tech)

Mutsuki-anime_zpsefc8816d.png

inb4 random Mutsuki from Kantai Collection pops up

"in Admiral mode": No mission today. Return to base pls

Given that aside, let'd get back to our main topic. Basically, the Mutsuki class were an improvement of the late WW1- era Minekaze class destroyers, to the point they and the preceding Kamikaze class are included in the Minekazes' roster. But what makes them different from their precedent cousins? First thing, lets look at the bow.

Here's a Minekaze class.

640px-Japanese_destroyer_Minekaze_Yokosu

And here's a real Mutsuki class

Japanese_destroyer_Mutsuki_1930.jpg

Yes, that bow shape. the Mutsuki class introduced the double curvature bow shape that later became standard on all IJN destroyers built before and during WW2. And not only that, the class also introduced the then new 24 inch (61 cm) torpedo tubes that later became the launchpads for the famous Type 93 Long Lance Oxygen powered torpedo. (Though that didn't even exist when they first came into service). But they retained the 4 x 120mm single mount battery of the Minekaze class, which still wasn't a problem considering Japan was planning the revolutionary Fubuki class of DDs which would change naval warfare forever. Anyway, that's a different story.