You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
AsakuraShinji

Gunboat IJN DD, Is it viable?

49 comments in this topic

266 posts
5,142 battles

Greetings, everyone. o7

As you can see, this is my first time posting on this forum, so let me briefly introduce myself first.

I'm an Indonesian player, plays mainly cruisers first and battleships second. Currently still learning to play DDs and CVs.

I will probably start to visit this forum more often from now on, so nice to meet you all. :>

On to the main topic. One of my goal in this game is to reach tier X in all ship lines, but I have a sliiight problem with it... That is, I just can't seem to enjoy the playing style of Japanese Destroyers.

Their playstyle feels slow-paced, and I also think their damage potential depends too much on the enemy's lack of awareness. Or I just suck at aiming torps, ahaha.

But anyways, I heard that starting from Hatsuharu and up, IJN DDs guns are actually quite good. So guns/torps hybrid build is quite feasible.

My question is, is it possible to play high-tier IJN DDs as a gunboat? Basically, I want to play them like a Blyskawica. Stealth firing from concealment/smoke and annoy those battleships.

Of course I will still use my torps when they are ready, it's just that I won't rely on them as much. I hate running idle waiting for my torps to arrive, only to find all of them missed... TwT

My main concern is whether the damage dealt by my guns worth the risk of revealing my position. Especially in high-tier, where the guns are frighteningly accurate. And not to mention CVs and radars.

So, this is the build I'm thinking of :

Captain skills :

1 - Situation Awareness

3 - Last Stand

6 - Superintendent

10 - AFT

15 - Concealment Expert

17 - Expert Marksman

18 - BFT

Upgrades : 

Slot 1 - Main battery upgrade

Slot 2 - + Turret Traverse, - Reload (Will change to accuracy after I got EM)

Slot 3 - Main battery range

Slot 4 - Propulsion

Slot 5 - Acceleration