You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Danaussie

Something Needs To Be Done About OP Destroyers

141 comments in this topic

126 posts
2,722 battles

First of all I don't complain, the game of WoWs is perfect in all respects and since I started playing about 6 months ago I have thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of it. I hear many guys talk about OP this and OP that but I have never heard them talk about Destroyers abilities tipping the balance in a battle. Time and time again I see OP Destroyers being the difference in a battle that has been all but won by a team.

I would not change the game in any way save this:

Destroyers should NEVER be invisible at ranges of less than 5 miles unless they pop smoke, this is probably the most unrealistic thing I have come across in WoWs. You cant mean to tell me that a Destroyer that has already been spotted by a ship and targeted by a cruiser with 300 hands can suddenly disappear before their very eyes at 5 miles and then launch its torpedoes without being detected. This must stop, its unfair and unrealistic. These Destroyers are exploiting this ability and literally taking up station in Base Areas and taking the Base Capture unopposed, from ranges where my crew could literally spit on the opposing Destroyers crew.

Popping smoke is fine, but without is absolutely ridiculous, you need to understand how Naval Camouflage actually works guys and you can not hide a naval vessel with camouflage in open water. It was designed for misidentification and to make them harder to hit by hiding their edges, and shadowing important parts, it was never designed to make them completely invisible. Please change this its an absolute joke.

Dan

Beta Tester
1,825 posts
5,155 battles