Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Flemboy

Make Battleships more competative

33 comments in this topic

[AE]
202 posts
9,515 battles

I understand fully that you need to make this game function in a way that makes people want to play all 4 types of ship.

But this is a suggestions section, and I am a marketer by trade, so....

I do believe that had you brought out a game with just Battleships, and called it say, "Jutland" people would still have flocked to it. The problem this game is going to have, IMHO, is that it becomes obvious fairly early on, as low as tier 2-3 play, that Battleships simply aren't competitive. In my limited experience, I have found that I can easily exterminate the tier 3 battleships, and tier 4 ones for that matter, with a cruiser, carrier, or destroyer. Quite simply, they are the easiest targets for my torpedoes if driving a CV or DD, and if in a cruiser I can usually burn them down to nothing within a couple of minutes. In company with another cruiser, I actually look forward to engaging a battleship, as they can't defend themselves against the onslaught of HE spam found in this game. Now some will say, "But high tier BBs are more accurate, and DDs become almost powerless at high levels". Problem is, potential players will have a lot of misery playing BBs to get there. It only takes, in my case, a few hundred games, to understand that BBs are hopelessly outclassed by every other type of ship from tier 1-5. Apparently they are just COVERED in wood and other flammables for the enemy to set fire to. Of course, under the wood should be hardened steel, which flames will do nothing to of course.

The game is called world of warships, which is fortunate, because it could not possibly be called world of battleships.